“Art like Wind can Caress the Senses, Not gentle… Not violent… Not indifferent… Not manic …. more like Beaufort 7”

Ray Walshe
3 min readFeb 9, 2021

--

https://www.dr-gindi.com/beaufort-7

I have always been interested in capturing moments. I have dabbled in photography, sketching and painting from my youth. When I was young, I entertained thoughts of becoming an artist but in truth I lack the patience, the stillness and the skill to capture what my mind’s eye sees in a suitable form with my clumsy hands. This inability to manually create these moments encouraged me to capture them as an amateur photographer and imbued me with a great appreciation for those who can create and preserve moments in time in the products of their own hands.

Admittedly, I am no art expert … But I do know what I like.

Recently I have been introduced to the work of Dr Gindi, a highly acclaimed German-Egyptian sculptor of some skill. An interesting lady who is a bit of an enigma. Dr Gindi is a fully qualified medical doctor so she has an acute sense of the anatomy of the human form and this insight brings a true human essence to her characterizations.

It is difficult to create fragility and flow in solid metal like bronze but there is a fragile but powerful lady entombed in bronze in Dr Gindi’s creation of ‘Transfigured Immortality’. She draws on her Egyptian heritage and knowledge to imply

“this is the Queen of Egypt, powerful and proud”

Her essence captured, eternal yet she has long since shuffled off. This sculpture exudes as outputs energy with warmth possibly a by-product of the inputs of artist’s labour and love.

Dr Gindi’s collection is worthy of your view. She battles with immortality and the “capture” of that eternal moment. You don’t need to be trained. You don’t need to be artistic. You don’t need to have a Neoclassical, a Hellenistic or a Roman vocabulary. You just need to know what you like. Which brings me back to the beginning.

I like “Beaufort 7”. There is a flow to the lion’s mane of hair blowing in the wind. I feel the movement in the rigid bronze. Soft light glints and reflects in the tresses highlighted by the ever changing patination of the bronze, keeping the subject alive. The hard, strong, weather beaten face of the sea-farer is juxtaposed with the undulating flow of wind through responsive hair. We can close our eyes too and feel the force of nature around us, caressing and holding us in the present.

I find myself staring for long periods at “Beaufort 7”.. but that’s ok.. I keep thinking I see movement when I know I am only feeling movement.

Perhaps it’s “Beaufort 7” that has been staring for much longer periods.

What has been seen?

What will be seen?

….
….

See more of Dr Gindi’s creations at https://www.dr-gindi.com/
You won’t be disappointed.

Ray Walshe
Asst Professor
Emerging Technology Standards
Adapt SFI Research Centre
Dublin City University
IRELAND

Husband, Technologist,
Photographer, Amateur

--

--